Call us toll free: +1 800 789 50 12
Call us toll free: +1 800 789 50 12
Slide background
Slide background

Jaquet Droz


 

Key dates in the extraordinary 275-year history of Jaquet Droz and the Art of Amazement:

1738

Pierre Jaquet-Droz sets up his first workshop in La Chaux-de-Fonds. He produces a whole series of long-case clocks with increasingly sophisticated movements that surpass anything before seen. His manual dexterity, meticulous nature and serious approach to his craft, as well as the reasoned application of the mechanical principles, led him to add music and automata to his movements, which came rapidly to the attention of a wealthy and demanding clientele.

 

1758

Pierre Jaquet-Droz, together with his father-in-law, Abraham Louis Sandoz and a young hired hand named Jacques Gevril, plan a journey from La Chaux-de-Fonds to the Spanish Royal court. They build a special carriage equipped to carry 6 clocks.  49 days after leaving Switzerland, they are received in Madrid by a Spanish nobleman. After a wait of several months, Pierre presents his clocks to King Ferdinand VI. The presentation was a triumph; the monarch and his court are left speechless by his creations and purchase the complete set for a large sum of money. Upon his return to La Chaux-de-Fonds, he devotes himself exclusively to making watches, clocks and his famous automata.

 

1773

Pierre Jaquet-Droz and his son, Henri-Louis, present their famous humanoid automata, The Writer, The Draughtsman and The Musician, in La Chaux-de-Fonds, then all over Europe. Their extensive research into picturesque mechanics and the artificial reproduction of life and movement give their creations a level of realism that astonishes and amuses all the Royal courts of Europe. But beyond their entertainment value, they provide excellent opportunities for Jaquet-Droz to show his watchmaking skills and sell his pieces. The automata really are an excellent promotional tool.

 

1774

Pierre Jaquet-Droz decides to set up a workshop in London, a hub for industry and trade. He gives his son, Henri-Louis, the responsibility over the management of the workshop, with a particular focus on managing relations with the Cox company, whose agents in Canton will provide access to the Far East market. For many years, they will represent the brand in China, the East Indies and Japan.

 

1779

With more than 600 pieces exported to China in 10 years, the Jaquet-Droz father and son have captivated the Qianlong Emperor himself. He and the mandarins of the Imperial court have developed a passionate interest in European mechanical watches and automatons, and Jaquet Droz becomes the first watch brand imported into the Forbidden City. Several automata and pocket watches are still carefully preserved in the Imperial Palace museum today.

 

1784

The Jaquet-Droz family opens the first watchmaking manufacture in Geneva, specializing in making and exporting fine luxury watches with automatons, music and other complications, while developing the production of singing birds.  They also contribute to founding a factory-school in the city, producing dials for repeater watches, and go on to develop a host of projects related to watchmaking technology and the support of crafts connected with watchmaking. Their efforts help a whole generation of craftsmen to earn their living.  Cases enameled with spangles, painting on enamel, as well as the skills of carving and engraving contribute significantly to the success and reputation of Jaquet-Droz creations: pocket watches, urns, snuff boxes, bird cages …all these masterpieces are decorated.

 

1790-1791

Pierre and Henri-Louis Jaquet-Droz die just one year apart. The French revolution and the troubles that followed it, as well as the Napoleonic wars, bring an end to a period of creativity and prosperity for the company.

 

2000

Montres Jaquet Droz is acquired by the Swatch Group and joins its prestige and luxury range. The Swatch Group enables the brand to recapture the success it enjoyed during the Age of Enlightenment, and preserve the exceptional heritage of its founder. The Swatch Group makes its expertise, technical resources and its famous production system available to Jaquet Droz, as well as its international distribution network.

 

2002

Launch of the Grande Seconde, a piece inspired by a pocket watch created in the 18th century. The dial of this ageless icon of the company is a refined demonstration of the art of Grand Feu enameling, with the hour and minute display at 12 o’clock overlapping the seconds counter at 6 o’clock.

 

2008

Launch of the Pocket Watch, the legendary timepiece that was made for centuries. This model, created in 1785, has survived and become the inspiration for the brand’s flagship, the Grande Seconde Enamel, honoring a philosophy that has remained unchanged since the Enlightenment.

 

2009

Nicolas G. Hayek takes the reins at Jaquet Droz, assisted by a steering committee.

 

2010

Marc A. Hayek takes over at Jaquet Droz, with the firm intention of cultivating the spirit of excellence and innovation while continuing to respect the emotional and poetic values created in the 18th century.

 

2010

Montres Jaquet Droz SA moves into its Fine Watchmaking workshop in La Chaux-de-Fonds. This 2,500 m2 site gives the brand a new energy, with the intention of becoming, like its watches, a synthesis of horological expertise and craftsmanship with a distinctive personality that enables it to meet the strong demand from the market and its customers.

 

2010

The Launch of The Eclipse: an exceptional timepiece displaying 8 stars (a lucky number for Jaquet Droz) and an engraved moon that continuously evolves, changing with each new dawn. This 18th century inspired design evokes both the origins of the brand and its passion for the decorative arts that dates back to the Century of Light.

 

2011

One of the most recognizable Jaquet Droz models, the Grande Seconde, is combined with a masterpiece of high-precision watchmaking: the tourbillon. Sapphire and Grand Feu enamel, innovation and tradition… many creative possibilities are opened up. The master dial makers finally decide to place the tourbillon right at the heart of the seconds counter, repositioned at 12 o’clock.

 

2011

Jaquet Droz moves its Ateliers d’Art workshop into its Fine Watchmaking workshop to integrate and preserve the centuries of special expertise that have created the brand’s identity. The meticulous work involved in miniature painting, carving, engraving and paillonné enamel is highlighted in some exceptional pieces in the Jaquet Droz collection.

 

2012

With the support of the Musée d’art et d’histoire de Neuchâtel, the famous humanoid automaton, The Writer, is taken to Beijing as part of an extraordinary exhibition “Automates & Merveilles”. In partnership with Montres Jaquet Droz, it introduces the genius of Jaquet Droz and Leschot to a new public. An incredible amount of information is assembled for the first time in the three museums in the canton of Neuchâtel: the Musée d’art et d’histoire de Neuchâtel, the Musée d’horlogerie de Locle and the Musée international d’horlogerie in La Chaux-de-Fonds.

 

2012

A new automaton, The Bird Repeater, is presented in November. This exceptional piece that involves all the decorative arts has been created in-house, demonstrating the history, expertise and imagination of Jaquet Droz craftsmen.

 

2013

Jaquet Droz celebrates its 275th anniversary, maintaining the avant-garde spirit and refined taste that distinguished its founder. After almost 300 years, the link between the Age of Enlightenment and the third Millennium remains intact.

Call us toll free: +1 800 789 50 12
Call us toll free: +1 800 789 50 12
Slide background
Slide background

Jaquet Droz


Découvrez en quelques dates clés les 275 années d’une histoire exceptionnelle, celle de Jaquet Droz et de l’art de l’émerveillement.

 

1738

Pierre Jaquet-Droz établit son premier atelier à La Chaux-de-Fonds. Il réalise toute une série de pendules longues-lignes (horloges de parquet) dont les mouvements de plus en plus sophistiqués surclassent déjà tous ceux produits jusqu’alors. Son habilité manuelle, sa méticulosité et son sérieux doublés de l’application raisonnée des principes de la mécanique le poussent à agrémenter ses mouvements d’horlogerie de musique et d’automates. Ils attirent rapidement l’attention d’une clientèle fortunée et exigeante.

 

1758

Pierre Jaquet-Droz, accompagné de son beau-père Abraham Louis Sandoz, et Jacques Gevril, un jeune ouvrier, entreprend un périple qui le mène de La Chaux-de-Fonds à la cour du roi d’Espagne. Ils construisent une carriole spéciale aménagée pour le transport de six pendules. 49 jours après avoir quitté la Suisse, ils sont accueillis à Madrid par un grand seigneur espagnol. Après plusieurs mois d’attente, Pierre Jaquet-Droz présente ses ouvrages au roi Ferdinand VI et vit un véritable triomphe. Le monarque et toute la cour restent sans voix devant ses créations. Elles sont toutes acquises et lui rapportent une somme d’argent importante. De retour à La Chaux-de-Fonds, il se consacre entièrement à la fabrication de ses montres, pendules et célèbres automates.

 

1773

Pierre Jaquet-Droz et Henri-Louis, son fils, présentent les fameux automates androïdes – l’Ecrivain, le Dessinateur et la Musicienne – à La Chaux-de-Fonds puis à toute l’Europe. Fruits d’un travail de recherche dans les domaines de la mécanique pittoresque et la reproduction artificielle de la vie et du mouvement, leur réalisme saisissant éblouit et amuse les cours européennes. Au-delà du spectacle lui-même, le but de ces démonstrations  est de mettre en évidence les pièces d’horlogerie des Jaquet-Droz et d’en favoriser la vente. Les automates constituent donc un véritable outil promotionnel.

 

1774

Pierre Jaquet-Droz prend la décision d’établir un atelier à Londres, ville de l’industrie et du commerce par excellence. Il en confie la direction à son fils Henri-Louis, plus particulièrement chargé des relations avec la Maison Cox, dont les agents à Canton permettront à Jaquet-Droz d’accéder au marché de l’Extrême-Orient et d’assurer pendant de nombreuses années la représentation de la marque en Chine, aux Indes et au Japon.

 

1779

Exportant plus de 600 pièces en 10 ans vers la Chine, les Jaquet-Droz ont su séduire et passionner l’Empereur Qianlong en personne et les mandarins de la cour impériale, fortement intéressés par les montres mécaniques et les automates européens. Jaquet-Droz a été la première marque horlogère importée à la Cité Interdite. De nombreux automates et montres de poche sont précieusement conservés au musée de ce palais impérial.

 

1784

Les Jaquet-Droz ouvrent la première manufacture horlogère genevoise, se spécialisant dans la production et l’exportation de montres de grand luxe, à automates, à musiques et autres complications tout en développant la fabrication des oiseaux chanteurs…  Ils contribuent du reste à l’établissement, dans cette ville, d’une fabrique-école de cadratures de montres à répétition et vont développer une foule de projets ayant trait tant à la technique horlogère qu’à la défense des métiers gravitant autour de l’horlogerie. À travers leurs œuvres, ils ont contribué à faire vivre toute une génération d’artisans. En effet, l’émail du boîtier agrémenté de paillons, la peinture sur émail, ou le travail de la sculpture et de la gravure ont très largement contribué au succès et à la renommée des Jaquet-Droz: montres de poche, urnes, tabatières, cages à oiseaux…, ces chefs-d’œuvre en étaient tous ornés.

 

1790-1791

Pierre et Henri-Louis Jaquet-Droz décèdent à une année d’intervalle. La révolution française et les conflits qui en résultent, ainsi que les guerres napoléoniennes, signent la fin de la période créatrice et prospère de la maison Jaquet-Droz.

 

 2000

Montres Jaquet Droz est racheté par le Swatch Group et intègre le segment prestige et luxe du groupe horloger. Depuis son acquisition, le groupe a permis à la marque de retrouver le succès qui a été le sien au siècle des Lumières et de perpétuer le patrimoine exceptionnel hérité de son fondateur. Le Swatch Group met à la disposition de Jaquet Droz tout son savoir-faire, ses ressources technologiques et son système de production dont la renommée n’est plus à faire, ainsi que son réseau de distribution international.

 

2002

Lancement de la Grande Seconde, pièce inspirée d’une montre de poche créée au XVIIIème siècle. Icône intemporelle de la maison, elle interprète avec raffinement la maîtrise de l’art de l’émail Grand Feu sur un cadran où s’entrelace le compteur heures et minutes décentré à 12 heures avec celui des secondes situé à 6 heures.

 

2008

Lancement de La Montre de Poche, mythe horloger perpétué au fil des siècles. Ce modèle imaginé en 1785 traversa les âges et a été la muse inspiratrice du modèle phare – la Grande Seconde Email – magnifiant une philosophie inchangée depuis le siècle des Lumières.

 

2009

Nicolas G. Hayek reprend les rênes des Montres Jaquet Droz, entouré d’un comité de pilotage.

 

2010

Marc A. Hayek reprend la direction des Montres Jaquet Droz, ayant pour mission de cultiver l’esprit d’excellence et d’innovation tout en continuant à transmettre les valeurs d’émotion et de poésie créées au XVIIIème siècle.

 

2010

Montres Jaquet Droz SA s’installe dans son nouvel Atelier de Haute Horlogerie à La Chaux-de-Fonds. Ce nouveau site de 2’500 m2 donne à la marque un nouvel élan et se veut, à l’image de ses montres, un concentré du savoir-faire horloger et artisanal enrichi d’une âme singulière, permettant de répondre à la forte demande des marchés et de ses clients.

 

2010

Lancement de L’Eclipse, exceptionnel garde-temps sur lequel sont apposées 8 étoiles – chiffre fétiche de Jaquet Droz – et une lune gravée évoluant jour après jour, se transformant à chaque réveil. Le design d’inspiration XVIIIème évoque autant les origines de la marque que sa prédilection, dès le siècle des Lumières, pour les arts décoratifs.

 

2011

Jaquet Droz associe l’un de ses modèles les plus emblématiques – la Grande Seconde – à une complication chef-d’œuvre de l’horlogerie de précision : le tourbillon. Saphir et émail Grand Feu, innovation et tradition, c’est après avoir étudié toutes les opportunités créatives que les artisans cadraniers ont décidé de placer le tourbillon au cœur même du compteur des secondes, décentré à douze heures

 

2011

Jaquet Droz met un point d’honneur à développer ses Ateliers d’Art au sein de son Atelier de Haute Horlogerie et fait perdurer les savoir-faire ancestraux chers à la marque. Rendant hommage à ces artisans si méticuleux, la peinture miniature, le travail de la sculpture et de la gravure, ou le paillonné sont mis en avant sur certaines pièces exceptionnelles de la collection Jaquet Droz.

 

2012

Avec le soutien du Musée d’art et d’histoire de Neuchâtel, le célèbre automate androïde Ecrivain voyage en Chine, à Pékin, annonçant un projet d’exposition extraordinaire et rendant hommage à ses créateurs d’exception. Cette exposition “Automates et merveilles” en partenariat avec les Montres Jaquet Droz, révèle au public le génie des Jaquet-Droz et Leschot. Un nombre incroyable de pièces et d’informations ont été réunies, pour la première fois, dans trois musées du canton de Neuchâtel : Musée d’art et d’histoire de Neuchâtel, Musée d’horlogerie du Locle et Musée international d’horlogerie de la Chaux-de-Fonds.

 

2012

Imaginée par les artisans de la maison, The Bird Repeater est dévoilée en novembre 2012, conjuguant l’histoire, le savoir-faire et l’imaginaire Jaquet Droz. Véritable automate, cette pièce exceptionnelle fait appel à tous les corps de métiers décoratifs.

 

2013

Jaquet Droz fête son 275ème anniversaire perpétuant l’esprit d’avant-garde et de raffinement esthétique propre à son fondateur. Près de trois siècles après sa naissance, le lien entre le siècle des Lumières et le troisième millénaire reste intact.